Cyber Monday Kindle Deals

Here are some deals on books I have enjoyed and would recommend. Please check pricing since it can fluctuate on Amazon.

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah was one that I had high expectations for since it is highly popular. It did not disappoint, Kristin Hannah is a wonderful storyteller. This book was different and interesting taking place in Alaska. I am adding her other books to my TBR since I had only read The Nightingale. I was crying by the end of the book while reading about Leni growing up and her heartbreaking family life. ONLY $2.99 today on Kindle.

Love and Ruin by Paula McLain is a historical fiction book about Ernest Hemingway’s third wife. Martha and Ernest meet during war times and travel as war correspondents. They live in Cuba during this time. It was an interesting and enjoyable book. ONLY $2.99 on Kindle today.

Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis was such a refreshing book to listen to on audio. Rachel offers encouraging and practical advice for women and mothers. ON SALE for $6.99 on Kindle.

Confessions of a Domestic Failure by Bunmi Laditan is a humorous fiction book for moms to read. It was so amusing to read about a new mom and totally relate to the humor of motherhood. ONLY $1.99 on Kindle.

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J.D. Vance is a book I listened to on audio narrated by the author. This memoir is about J.D. growing up in a hillbilly family from Kentucky and Ohio. He shares stories about his family and the hardships they endured. ONLY $3.99 on Kindle today.

Bring Me Back by B.A. Paris is the third thriller book I have read of hers. They are not my favorite thrillers because they seem unrealistic, but if you like the genre, these are pretty popular. In this book, a woman goes missing and her boyfriend moves on with her sister. Mystery and suspense abound as clues appear indicating that she might be back after being gone for twelve years.

Force of Nature by Jane Harper. This is the second book in the Aaron Falk series. I really enjoyed and preferred The Dry. This series does a good job of having a good mystery without being scary. In this new book, Falk is investigating a case and his main witness has suddenly gone missing. He helps to uncover the truth of what happened to her. The ending was not predictable which I always enjoy.

The Handmaid’s Tale is FREE for Prime members and $2.99 for Kindle deal today. This popular book inspired the Hulu show. This dystopian world was interesting and unique.

ONLY $3.99 for 4 books from Karen Kingsbury. These are great Christian fiction books.

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Book Themed Gifts for Kids

D0706AC5-AD8D-4E9A-9F66-AF1A11B8C492Here are some book themed gifts for kids:

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

 

Gifts for Book Lovers

3B054FAE-613F-4A1C-85BB-8BFAD32EDFE2Here is fun list of ideas for the booklovers in your life:

  • Book darts are handy to mark favorite parts in a book without tearing up the book. They make great stocking stuffers.
  • Socks that say ” If you can read this, pass me my book.”
  • Bookstack ornament is an adorable addition to any Christmas tree.
  • Read ornament is an open book titled Book Lover and is creative.
  • Bookstore Candle. They have several book themed candles to choose from. This is a soy candle.
  • I Read Past My Bedtime bookmark  is adorable and a fun stocking stuffer.
  • Drink Coffee, Read Books, Be Happy mug will be useful to drink your coffee in while reading a great book.
  • Book Nerd shirt for all of those book nerds out there.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Changing Seasons

38369A75-9A4F-49A1-B16F-2C5895EED5B8

It has been a cold autumn and the first snow happened before Thanksgiving. Here are some books to read this time of year as winter approaches:

Sleep Tight Farm: A Farm Prepares For Winter  by Eugenie Doyle and Illustrated by Becca Stadtlander (whom we have met and is extremely talented). In this beautifully illustrated book, a farm prepares for winter. It shows how the changing seasons affect the farm and what the farmers to do prepare for the changes.

Goodbye Autumn, Hello Winter by Kenard Pak is part of a series about the changing seasons. In this one, a little girl goes for a walk and experiences the changes in the seasons between autumn and winter.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Thanksgiving Books

906E19F4-D8BF-44DD-9495-5FF65D177CFE

Happy Thanksgiving readers! Here are some books that we enjoy to read this time of year as we celebrate Thanksgiving and reflect on what we have to be thankful for.

A Pumpkin Prayer by Amy Parker is a sweet little book to remember the things we have to be thankful for.

Arthur’s Thanksgiving by Marc Tolon Brown is about Arthur directing his school play about Thanksgiving. He has to cast the roles and no one wants to play the turkey. He decides that in the end, he will just have to do it himself.

Fancy Nancy: Our Thanksgiving Banquet by Jane O’Connor has delightful Nancy at her family’s Thanksgiving dinner. We love all of the Fancy Nancy books and this is another cute and fun one about the fancy things about Thanksgiving.

How To Catch A Turkey by Adam Wallace is a new release about a turkey that does not want to be part of the school play. He runs around the school being chased. This would be a fun one to read in a classroom.

The Autumn Visitors by Karel Hayes is part of a series about a family of bears during each season. In this book about autumn, a family of bears lives in a cabin while the people are not there. They spend Halloween there and end up having their Thanksgiving dinner there.

Franklin’s Thanksgiving by Paulette Bourgeois is part of the series about Franklin. In this book about Thanksgiving, Franklin is sad that his grandparents are not coming to visit this year. He decides to invite some friends to join them and surprise his parents. His parents also have a few surprises of their own. It shows what is truly important while celebrating holidays.

 

Other books for Thanksgiving:

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Unicorn Books

FF07A3E2-5FD7-47B5-AB44-02B33767EE6A

One of my kids absolutely loves all things unicorn. So we are always looking for new books about unicorns. These two new books encourage creativity and imagination.

Unicorn Magic by Sabina Gibson is about a little unicorn that does not know what her gift is. She talks to other unicorns about their special gifts and discovers what her abilities are. The pictures in the book are of felt unicorns and make this a unique and beautiful book.

Do You Believe in Unicorns? by Bethanie Deeney Murguia is such a creative and fun book. Can you tell if the horse wearing the hat is really a unicorn? Read the book to find out.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

 

Louisiana’s Way Home

0E1BC61F-6F6D-4A7B-9160-9D91D4BEB1D7

Louisiana’s Way Home by Kate DiCamillo is a new book and one that my kids and I loved. I read it aloud and we all enjoyed this beautifully written story about a little girl discovering who she is and where she belongs. This story is sad and touching. Louisiana is forced to leave home with her Granny in the middle of the night. They begin driving  and end up in a small town where she finds a new friend. Her journey to this new town is sad, but it ends happily. Do you have a favorite book by Kate DiCamillo?

 

Other books we have enjoyed by Kate DiCamillo:

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Kindle Deal on The Queen of Hearts

Sharing some deals on books that I have enjoyed and would recommend reading. Please check price before purchasing since prices fluctuate on Amazon.

The Queen of Hearts by Kimmery Martin is one that I had heard was good for fans of Grey’s Anatomy and I can see why. Since I was a nurse, the medical setting for this book was intriguing and even those not in the medical field can appreciate it. It made it a unique background for this story about doctors. The storyline goes back and forth between two different times in their present lives and when they were in medical school together. The story took place in Kentucky and North Carolina. Living in Kentucky, it was fun to read about this story taking place in the Louisville area and that the author who is also a doctor is from Kentucky. I really enjoyed this book and look forward to her future work. $1.99

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Love to Read

6C0E1C53-FB91-42DC-B1BF-862E1FE8290F

Llama Llama Loves To Read by Anna Dewdney may be my favorite of this series. Llama goes to school and learns to read. It covers the alphabet and would be cute for kids going to school for the first time.

How Do Dinosaurs Learn to Read? by Jane Yolen is the newest book in the How Do Dinosaurs series. This book show the proper way to handle books and fall in love with reading. There is humor and a lesson in this enjoyable read aloud book.

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden

BE82EFBD-AC02-48B1-9FD7-65830CD3B267

The Vanderbeekers and the Hidden Garden by Karina Yan Glaser is the second book about the Vanderbeeker family. I read this aloud to my kids and we all enjoyed it. The Vanderbeeker kids decide to make a garden for their elderly neighbors. The kids work together to make the garden a place for their neighborhood to enjoy. They have to overcome some obstacles to make their garden. We also enjoyed The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street.

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.