Christmas Shopaholic

5BD7E5AA-689D-4226-A8E3-9F85196A378A

“It might only be November, but the festive season has truly arrived. There are Christmas lights and garlands everywhere.” –Christmas Shopaholic

Christmas Shopaholic by Sophia Kinsella is the newest in the Shopaholic series. I read this as a stand alone without reading the rest of the series and enjoyed it. It was a light hearted book to get you in the Christmas spirit. Becky is a shopaholic and her shopping habits are humorous. She realizes what truly makes Christmas special is the people and not the gifts. Have you started your Christmas shopping yet?

 

Books I would recommend by Sophia Kinsella:

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Ask Again, Yes

9FD53611-1659-4C97-B1E1-A56D8282CFFF

Ask Again, Yes: A Novel by Mary Beth Keane is a book that I purchased in June and finally just got around to reading. I let library holds take precedence and now I am able to read some of my own books. I loved this book! The writing easily made it a 5 star book. The story is character driven and slow. The story follows two families that are neighbors and how their lives intersect over the years through mental illness, alcoholism, separation, and other hardships. The families both have police officers in them and that was a main theme in the book.  Have you read this book?

If you enjoyed this book, then I would recommend:

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Before We Were Yours

570BA8C1-EA17-4165-BA6C-6AE02AB26CCF

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate is a historical fiction book about the Tennessee Children’s Home Society. I listened to this on audio last year and loved it. I read it again this month for book club. This story is told in the past and the present from different perspectives to tell the story about a family being torn apart by Georgia Tann. The story is sad, but very well written and is still one of my favorites.

Before And After by Judy Christie and Lisa Wingate is a new non-fiction book about the true stories of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society. The authors met to the children that were adopted and they shared their stories about their lives and their adoptions. A lot of them try to find their birth families and some were successfully reunited. These two books were great to read together and I highly recommend them both.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Words Of Comfort

9BE53729-22C2-49AF-B065-CE0895A2D3F6

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”
-Matthew 11:28

Words Of Comfort For Women by Carolyn Larsen is a new Christian non-fiction book for women. This book offers 90 passages of encouragement. Each passage is short, but is packed with such encouragement. Topics about trusting God and overcoming anxiety are some of the topics discussed. Each passage is concise and easy to read. I am about half way through and have really enjoying reading a chapter each day to learn more about trusting in God. This would make a great gift to give to other women. Thank you to Revell for this review copy.

About the Author:
Carolyn Larsen is the bestselling author of more than fifty books for children and adults. She has been a speaker for women’s events and classes around the world, bringing scriptural messages filled with humor and tenderness.

 

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Living Beyond Pain

7B938AB8-4102-4F22-A57F-648FF68A4B3A

Living beyond Pain: A Holistic Approach to Manage Pain and Get Your Life Back by Linda S. PhD Mintle and James W. DO Kribs is a new non-fiction book for those suffering from chronic pain. I have been suffering from chronic pain for over 2 years and have a background in nursing so I found this book very informative and useful. The book covers physical and emotional issues related to pain and ways to manage the pain. The authors did a great job in explaining these pain management options and gave the reader a good resource to discuss options with their doctor.  I would recommend that those suffering through pain to read this book to be encouraged and hopefully find relief from pain. Thank you to Baker Books for this review book.
About the Author:
Dr. Linda is a nationally recognized author and speaker with an impressive list of television and radio credits.

She is an Approved Supervisor and Clinical member of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, and a Diplomat in Social Work. Licensed as a Marriage and Family Therapist and Clinical Social Worker, Dr. Linda has been in clinical practice for over 20 years with specialties in eating issues and

Dr. Linda is the Chair, Behavioral Health, Liberty University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine (LUCOM). She has served as an adjunct in the School of Psychology and Counseling at Regent University and in the Graduate Psychology Department at Wheaton College. She also served as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at Eastern Virginia Medical School and in Clinical Pediatrics. She held a clinical research position at the University of South Florida’s Florida Mental Health Institute.

She writes professionally and for the mass market and hosts her own web site, http://www.drlindahelps.com. A regular columnist and contributor to several magazines, a national blogger for BeliefNet (Doing Life Together), Dr. Linda has published numerous print articles as well as written for academic journals and textbooks.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

This Tender Land

122E809E-3097-4E28-BF6B-F9FB0D07C996

This Tender Land: A Novel by William Kent Krueger is a historical fiction book about 4 orphans that meet in an orphanage. One of the boys is a Native American and their history is a big part of this book. They endure a lot of hardships and run away to find a better life. These young kids form a family of their own as they are on the run and are faced with obstacles. This book was beautifully written and I would like to read his other books.  This one was a long hold at my library and was well worth the wait.

If you enjoyed this book then I would recommend reading these books:

https://www.amazon.com/Where-Crawdads-Sing-Delia-Owens/dp/0735219095/ref=as_sl_pc_as_ss_li_til?tag=readingthemes-20&linkCode=w00&linkId=e3634c843acedda3c6e1f398a2b93c49&creativeASIN=0735219095

https://www.amazon.com/Dutch-House-Novel-Ann-Patchett/dp/0062963678/ref=as_sl_pc_as_ss_li_til?tag=readingthemes-20&linkCode=w00&linkId=b3e6e6f7c91140f6c5ef5e47bf4fc1a2&creativeASIN=0062963678

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

The Most Fun We Ever Had

B4DAC9B1-C6F8-4AAF-82CC-0540CB02250A

The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo is a fictional book about a dysfunctional family and I am still trying to figure out what I thought about it. I heard such great reviews of it and yet it wasn’t one I would rave about. I enjoyed the storytelling being told over different time periods. I did not really care for any of the characters or the language and it was steamy like a romance novel. A couple has four daughters that all have unique lives full of drama.  The storyline about adoption was sad and written well to show how that decision affects a lot of people. Would love to hear your thoughts about this book.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

If Only I Could Tell You

6CFBA2FD-B8E4-4DEA-B4BF-F4A42F1B7125

If Only I Could Tell You: A Novel by Hannah Beckerman is a novel described for fans of This Is Us and I think that is accurate. This story is about a family that endures a lot and the story is revealed bit by bit in the past and the present. It covers a lot of really hard topics and shows how a family is broken apart from these hardships.

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Marriage Books

C9573BF4-F63E-4580-9A54-7164F2F1C1AD

100 Words of Affirmation Your Husband Needs to Hear by Lisa Jacobson. This book is divided into 100 short chapters and offers ways to show affirmation to your husband. It encouraged me to be more proactive in saying things to my husband that I appreciate about him as a husband and a father.

100 Words of Affirmation Your Wife Needs to Hear by Matt Jacobson. This book is divided into 100 short chapters which is great for my husband that is not a big reader. Some chapters are just a paragraph long. Some of the topics encouraged some good conversations about how we treat each other.

100 Ways to Love Your Wife by Matt Jacobson offers examples and practical ways to show love to your wife. The book is broken up into 100 short chapters which makes reading one a day a really easy goal.

100 Ways to Love Your Husband by Lisa Jacobson offers practical ways to show your husband that you love him. Each chapter covers a different topic and a way to show love to your husband.

These books were nice reminders to make marriage a priority. As the years pass and lives get busy especially if you have kids it is easy to become complacent in your marriage. These authors shared from their own marriage examples to implement in our lives to remind us ways to love and affirm our spouses. Thanks you to Revell for these review copies.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

 

The Fountains Of Silence

AA2E1FDB-5572-46C7-9D32-8F8DD78DE399

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys is a new historical fiction book set in Spain. The story was slow at first and I had trouble getting into the story. I kept reading and became engrossed in the story. This book has the shortest chapters and is told by several different perspectives. I enjoyed the story in Spain and it was a nice break from WWII fiction. A young photographer is visiting Spain with his parents and he begins to learn about the Spanish people and how their lives are affected by Franco. There is romance and a little mystery in this book. What are you reading this weekend?

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.