This Tender Land

122E809E-3097-4E28-BF6B-F9FB0D07C996

This Tender Land: A Novel by William Kent Krueger is a historical fiction book about 4 orphans that meet in an orphanage. One of the boys is a Native American and their history is a big part of this book. They endure a lot of hardships and run away to find a better life. These young kids form a family of their own as they are on the run and are faced with obstacles. This book was beautifully written and I would like to read his other books.  This one was a long hold at my library and was well worth the wait.

If you enjoyed this book then I would recommend reading these books:

https://www.amazon.com/Where-Crawdads-Sing-Delia-Owens/dp/0735219095/ref=as_sl_pc_as_ss_li_til?tag=readingthemes-20&linkCode=w00&linkId=e3634c843acedda3c6e1f398a2b93c49&creativeASIN=0735219095

https://www.amazon.com/Dutch-House-Novel-Ann-Patchett/dp/0062963678/ref=as_sl_pc_as_ss_li_til?tag=readingthemes-20&linkCode=w00&linkId=b3e6e6f7c91140f6c5ef5e47bf4fc1a2&creativeASIN=0062963678

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

The Most Fun We Ever Had

B4DAC9B1-C6F8-4AAF-82CC-0540CB02250A

The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo is a fictional book about a dysfunctional family and I am still trying to figure out what I thought about it. I heard such great reviews of it and yet it wasn’t one I would rave about. I enjoyed the storytelling being told over different time periods. I did not really care for any of the characters or the language and it was steamy like a romance novel. A couple has four daughters that all have unique lives full of drama.  The storyline about adoption was sad and written well to show how that decision affects a lot of people. Would love to hear your thoughts about this book.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

If Only I Could Tell You

6CFBA2FD-B8E4-4DEA-B4BF-F4A42F1B7125

If Only I Could Tell You: A Novel by Hannah Beckerman is a novel described for fans of This Is Us and I think that is accurate. This story is about a family that endures a lot and the story is revealed bit by bit in the past and the present. It covers a lot of really hard topics and shows how a family is broken apart from these hardships.

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Marriage Books

C9573BF4-F63E-4580-9A54-7164F2F1C1AD

100 Words of Affirmation Your Husband Needs to Hear by Lisa Jacobson. This book is divided into 100 short chapters and offers ways to show affirmation to your husband. It encouraged me to be more proactive in saying things to my husband that I appreciate about him as a husband and a father.

100 Words of Affirmation Your Wife Needs to Hear by Matt Jacobson. This book is divided into 100 short chapters which is great for my husband that is not a big reader. Some chapters are just a paragraph long. Some of the topics encouraged some good conversations about how we treat each other.

100 Ways to Love Your Wife by Matt Jacobson offers examples and practical ways to show love to your wife. The book is broken up into 100 short chapters which makes reading one a day a really easy goal.

100 Ways to Love Your Husband by Lisa Jacobson offers practical ways to show your husband that you love him. Each chapter covers a different topic and a way to show love to your husband.

These books were nice reminders to make marriage a priority. As the years pass and lives get busy especially if you have kids it is easy to become complacent in your marriage. These authors shared from their own marriage examples to implement in our lives to remind us ways to love and affirm our spouses. Thanks you to Revell for these review copies.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

 

The Fountains Of Silence

AA2E1FDB-5572-46C7-9D32-8F8DD78DE399

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys is a new historical fiction book set in Spain. The story was slow at first and I had trouble getting into the story. I kept reading and became engrossed in the story. This book has the shortest chapters and is told by several different perspectives. I enjoyed the story in Spain and it was a nice break from WWII fiction. A young photographer is visiting Spain with his parents and he begins to learn about the Spanish people and how their lives are affected by Franco. There is romance and a little mystery in this book. What are you reading this weekend?

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Tuesday Mooney Talks To Ghosts

DAD2034D-142F-4B81-8F4A-DF4147843A71

Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts by Kate Racculia is a new fantasy book that involves ghosts and some mystery. An eccentric and wealthy man passes away and his obituary is the beginning of a scavenger hunt. Tuesday Mooney has been talking to the ghost of her childhood friend since she went missing years ago. She joins in on the adventure of the hunt and uncovers some mysteries along the way. I took a chance on  this fantasy story because it is not a common genre for me. I did enjoy this one and it was a fun read around Halloween.

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

God-Confident Kids

IMG_0416

“Don’t let fear of change snuff out the direction God is taking you,

your kids, and your family.” p136

God-Confident Kids by Cyndie Claypool de Neve is a new Christian non-fiction book for parents. This book is not a book about dyslexia, but the author shares about her experience raising a son with dyslexia and I found it so encouraging. I have children with dyslexia and it brings a whole new dimension to parenting.  This book was well written and timely discussing issues relevant to parenting today. Parents today face so many new challenges as social media plays a bigger part of our lives and in our kids’ lives. It is so helpful and encouraging to read books like this one to help navigate parenting. Thank you to Baker Books for this review copy.

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

She Prays

IMG_0407

She Prays by Debbie Lindel is a new Christian non-fiction book about prayer. It is divided into 31 days of readings. I read one chapter daily and enjoyed the short chapters that offered encouragement for praying. I really enjoyed the verses included in each chapter that reinforced each topic. The author shares from her own life and offers verses of encouragement.  This book offers wisdom to anyone looking for a new devotional about prayer and to deepen your faith in God. Thank you to Revell for this review copy.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

Where The Crawdads Sing

209B1FDF-7D3D-45FB-AC2E-606701D644B7

“Autumn leaves don’t fall; they fly.”

-Where The Crawdads Sing p.124

Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens is still one of my favorite books and one of the most popular ones right now. I read it the first time in September 2018 and was able to hear Delia Owens speak a few months later. I reread the book for my book club’s October pick. I was surprised by how much I had forgotten about the storyline. I loved it just as much the second time. This book has every element of a good book including mystery, romance, and historical fiction. The setting of the North Carolina marsh is like a character on its own. Looking forward to discussing it with my book club.

We had some fun food themed for book club including chicken pot pie,  blackberry cobbler,  and Swamp water. It was a fun night discussing this book and we all loved it. What foods would you include from the book?

 

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.

 

 

Two Peas & Their Pod Cookbook

C7C22909-0C4B-41CC-B775-9DC69B6FEBE2

Two Peas & Their Pod Cookbook: Favorite Everyday Recipes from Our Family Kitchen by Maria Lichty is a new cookbook from my favorite food blogger. I have used her recipes for years and have always had great success with them. My first recipe from this cookbook is the Pumpkin Streusel Muffins and they are delicious. Looking forward to making more yummy recipes from this book.

 

*This post contains Amazon affiliate links.